I don't want a "Schoolie" !!! ... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

BNO BBS - BNO's Bulletin Board System » THE ARCHIVES » Year 2003 » August 2003 » I don't want a "Schoolie" !!! « Previous Next »

Adam P (64.236.221.6)

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, August 02, 2003 - 8:31 am:   

But I don’t mind a short “dog-nose” conventional school bus….
Let me introduce myself and explain…
Hello all, I’m AdamP, a 30’s something technical engineer from Georgia, (originally NY/NJ) and you folks have a really great site here!!! I’m new at this “bus-nut” thing, but really enjoy learning about it!!! I would not have thought it such a group hobby. But then again, most would not think of collecting and restoring antique, two wheeled walk-behind tractors either…. I’m into old tractors!!! I have about 12 ranging in size from small “walkers” to full on ag machines. I (probably like many of you) started thinking about a conversion, when I started looking into the RV world. It was my wife that thought an RV would be a great way to go to the tractor shows, and also be used as a tow vehicle to tow either the tractors we own, or our 1964 Cadillac should we go to a car show. I have a very cool wife!!! Anyway, I started looking at RV’s, the smaller ones, under 100K, and while I liked their efficient use of space, they really lacked in the towing capacity. A small size is important to me, as I might have to maneuver though a show ground (with other people setting up there tractors on and off of trailers, and the like.) Then to usually weave to the back of a parking lot and drop off the trailer, and be able to set up at the fair grounds campsite. Lots of tight weaving around…. I remember being in a BT Cruiser RV (a small class “C”) at a dealership and after looking at the price, I thought, I could do this!!! And maybe even get that “Coachman” layout that I like, (Queen size bed in the rear facing forward, with a separate bathroom and shower, one on each side