Is Bluebird a Bus? Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

BNO BBS - BNO's Bulletin Board System » THE ARCHIVES » Year 2003 » September 2003 » Is Bluebird a Bus? « Previous Next »

Confused About Birds (128.177.200.33)

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, September 17, 2003 - 6:39 pm:   

I've always thought Bluebird Wanderlodges were based on a Bus Chasis.

But the other day I read a Bluebird ad that proudly said "Built on a Spartan Chasis".

Hell, Fleetwood's are built on a Spartan Chasis.

Also, can somebody distinguish "FC", "PT" etc in the Bluebird line?

Thanks
Gary McFarland (Gearheadgary) (198.88.152.22)

Posted on Wednesday, September 17, 2003 - 6:54 pm:   

I'm still learning this stuff myself, so forgive me if I get anything wrong here...

Most birds are based on an "All American" chassis, as is mine.

Bluebirds built on the Spartan Chassis are not actually "Wanderlodges", but rather BMC.

BMCs are a lower cost compromise between a full-on Wanderlodge, and a Stick and staple box.

Terms:

FC = Forward control (Engine in Front)

SP = Single-Axle-Pusher (Engine in rear, one rear axle--this is what I have)

PT = Pusher-Tag-axle (same as SP only BIGGER and another pair of tires--Saw a beauty yesterday and Northwest RV Supply)

the yahoo wanderlodge group is a tremendous resource.

Gary 83SP31 Conversion
CHRISTOPHER (12.91.43.39)

Posted on Thursday, September 18, 2003 - 7:55 am:   

GO TO BIRDCONNECTION.COM FOR MORE INFO
john wood (206.252.250.66)

Posted on Monday, September 22, 2003 - 12:56 pm:   

Just saw a bluebird BUS in Helena MT. Looks like a genuine over the road coach. Bays have bracing that looks like an eagle. Did not know they were in the big bus business. Same outfit had a VanHool, a prevost or two, an MCI as well as the Bluebird, which looked to be the newest one.
RJ Long (Rjlong) (24.127.74.29)

Posted on Monday, September 22, 2003 - 8:06 pm:   

John -

Is this the bus you saw?