Heart 1800-12 Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

BNO BBS - BNO's Bulletin Board System » THE ARCHIVES » Year 2011 » April 2011 » Heart 1800-12 « Previous Next »

John & Barb Tesser (Bigrigger)
Registered Member
Username: Bigrigger

Post Number: 495
Posted From: 96.42.5.35

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Monday, March 28, 2011 - 11:01 am:   

i just bid $100 on an inverter "as is where is". From the picture it doesn't look like it has been abused, but I guess we will see if I win it. My question is can i just wire that in series with my electric panel already in my bus? The service panel that is there is one of those small ones out of a motorhome that has about 6 or 8, 12 volt fused connections and I think 4 circuit breakers (can't get into the bus yet thanks to Wisconsin spring!). I am thinking I can just leave that in and wire the inverter in the line before that panel. As an electrician I make a great truck driver so maybe this whole thread isn't making sense from a wiring perspective.

Thanks for helping me think through this,
John
Derrick Thomas (Thomasinnv)
Registered Member
Username: Thomasinnv

Post Number: 14
Posted From: 67.142.130.22

Posted on Monday, March 28, 2011 - 11:11 am:   

with the use of some type of transfer switch you certainly could wire it in that way, but I wouldn't. you would be powering everything in the bus that way, including those items you really don't want to such as: power converter, fridge, elec water heater etc. I suppose you could do it that way and just make sure you switch off any breakers that you don't want energized. personally, I would put in a sub panel for just the circuits you want energized from the inverter and power just the sub panel through a transfer switch. make it dummy proof.
Registered Member

Post Number: 496

Posted on Monday, March 28, 2011 - 5:55 pm: